author
alaska

Alaska is an erotic BDSM author who also goes by the pen names Jennifer Salaiz and Jenny May. She lives in the Houston area…for now. She’s a dreamer, and longs for the day when her husband and kids can load up in the car and drive until their hearts’ content. Adventure and discovering new places play a huge role in Alaska’s life. It drives her, and feeds the creativity of coming up with new locations for her stories. Within the last two years, Alaska and her family have driven across the country twice, and also drove the distance from Texas to California four times. Asked, if she could choose one place to permanently settle down, where it would be, Alaska laughed. “Montana, today. Tomorrow, it may be Maine, again. I go back and forth.”
When Alaska’s not dreaming of spontaneously hitting the road to find a new place to write about, she’s being a mother and wife.

honest
mars
domup
I am torn as I review this book because I am in between stars. “I didn’t like it” or “it was okay” is what I’m currently feeling and I’ll explain why I am giving this 2.5 stars:

– This book was too short and way too rushed. The prologue shows us Victoria and Devlin together but from that it jumps into chapter 1 (YEARS later) except we are NOT told it is years later and as a reader I was confused.
– Secondly, Victoria frustrated me. She sleeps with a man, gets pregnant by him, hides it from him but still feels something for him? We are told she’s scared of the person he used to be and doesn’t believe he has changed but ummm.. This was a one night stand, why is she judging him when SHE too slept around? She should’ve given him a chance.
– Third: Devlin is a little over the top in his controlling and the whole wanting to settle down and putting an ad on the paper just pissed me off. You can’t just go from A to Z in one chapter.

I feel like the book needed a couple more chapters on character development. As a reader I wanted to understand what drove Victoria to act so stupidly, what made Devlin want to change. I wanted learn more about what HE does for a living since he’s a millionaire and I wanted to know what Victoria felt as a single mom. There are just way too many questions left unanswered and for that reason I couldn’t enjoy the book. It was an okay read. I am hoping book two answers all my questions because I am interested in seeing what happens especially after that cliffhanger!


fever
Victoria’s and Devlin story continues with this book, some of the questions I had from book 1 where finally answered. We learn what Devlin actually does for a living and why Victoria decided to hide her pregnancy from him. The reasons are given to us in more depth and I can understand and relate to her as a woman. There’s also a bit more character growth even though this book felt just as rushed as the first one. I don’t really like how some things are skipped and then we learn about it chapters late, I guess the author wants to give us a bit of mystery but instead I felt like there was a huge blank and I couldn’t figure out how to move past it. Aside from that, I did like this book more than the first one because the authors writing evolved. There were a couple of grammatical errors but not too many and this was a quick read. Unfortunately, this book was too short! The cliffhanger at the end is killing me, I need to read the final installment. Book 1 was 12 chapters and this book was 8chapters. I can’t help but feel like all 3 books should’ve just been made into one nice standalone! Because of all the reasons mentioned above I give this book 3 stars.


forever
I truly believe Alaska’s writing improved immensely in the final installment of the Dom series. I went from 2 stars to 4 stars. All the questions that I had about Victoria and are Devlin were answered in this final book. As characters Victoria grows from being extremely insecure of her relationship with Devlin to accepting his love and forgiving him. Devlin’s character also grows, in this book he focuses on his family and everything ends up being wrapped up into one nice final. The only reason why I am giving this 4 stars is because it has minor spelling/grammar errors and because I still believe that instead of a series of 3 novellas this should’ve been published as one standalone book. I definitely recommend this series but I advise that they be read one after the next so that the reader gets a feel of one standalone instead of the annoying cliffhangers the previous books had.

If you’re looking to connect with Alaska and/or learn more about her books, feel free to email her at alaska_angelini@yahoo.com, or find her on the pages below:


✰✰✰

