hlrg

Joann is a self-published author of The Brookehaven Vampires Series. In 2010 she self-published her first novel, Laney. Laney is the first of several installments telling her story.

Joann began writing about The Brookehaven Vampires to curb her vampire addiction and turn it into something productive. She is very passionate about this world she has created.

Joann grew up in the small town of Red Bluff, CA and now resides just outside of the Sacramento area. This week she is our Author of the week
and she agreed to an interview so that her readers could know a bit more about her.

lejkt

Joann’s interview answers:

Why do you write?

I write because I love it, but also because I have stories in me that I need to get out.

We know you’ve written many books, do you have a favorite or do you love all of them equally?

I love all of them differently, but if I had to pick a favorite, it would be Tainted Blood, The Brookehaven Vampires book 3. I believe the reason for this is because it’s where Laney’s story originally began for me. I also really got to know a lot of the other characters in that book, and that was great. 🙂

What are you working on at the moment? Any new book releases coming this year?

Currently, I’m revising BHV books 1-4 and the novella. I’m also working on book 5, which is scheduled to be released this fall. I’m very excited about the release of book 5, because this fall will be the 5th anniversary of when I released my first book, Laney. My street team (who are awesome and won me this spotlight. Thanks, ladies!) and I will be planning a great celebration for The Brookehaven Vampires anniversary and the release of book 5. I can’t wait! 🙂

Do you write full-time or part-time? What does your writing routine look like?

I write whenever I can. On a typical writing day, I get ready for the day, feed the pets and myself, and then get myself situated. I’ll spend the entire day writing, but I get interrupted a lot by kids, pets, the hubby, my phone, a squirrel. 😉 But I love it.

Where do your ideas come from? What inspires you the most?

I’m inspired by many things. Music, a TV show/movie, books, something someone says or does. I’ll be minding my own business and suddenly something hits me and I’m like “That’s perfect!” Then I’ve got to write it down ASAP.

What is the hardest thing about writing?

The time it takes to get the story out of my head, and the fact there never seems to be enough time in the day.

How long on average does it take you to write a book?

It depends on the size of the book. I can write a first draft fairly quickly, it’s all the revising and perfecting that takes forever.

Do you ever get writer’s block? If so, any tips on how to get through the dreaded writer’s block?

Thankfully I don’t, but I am easily distracted. 😉

Do you read much and if so who are your favorite authors? Are you reading anything interesting at the moment?

Sadly, I don’t get to read as much as I’d like, but I did just compile a great To-Read list with the help of my fans. Now I’ve just got to get started on it. 😉

As for my favorite authors, I’ve got many, but some of my favorites are: Rachel Caine, Amanda Hocking, Charlaine Harris, Christopher Paolini, Jonathan Stroud, and J.K. Rowling.

How do you relax? Any interesting hobbies?

It’s hard for me to switch off my brain and relax, but I try, usually by watching TV. As for hobbies, I have very little time for it, but I enjoy making jewelry, especially book-related jewelry.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

Write for yourself and write what you want to read. Don’t worry about what the end will bring and just enjoy your story and the process of writing it.

Thank you to all who have taken the time to read a bit about me, and thank you to Restless Book Obsession for this spotlight.

How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Website | Facebook | Facebook Group | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest

CLICK ON THE BANNER TO PURCHASE JOANN’S BOOKS

rlee

