t;okere

Meet Teresa:
Being a wife to a wonderful man who was my high school honey and a mother to a 17 year old son who is my world and working 40 hour weeks takes up a lot of my spare time. Even with all of that I still find time to read my favorite authors and find new ones to give me a break from reality. My love and passion for the written word sent me on a journey 18 years ago, a journey to be able to do what my favorite authors do for me and that is to take someone away from the daily grind and send them into a world where they can root for their hero’s, hate the villain’s, love and well be kind of jealous of heroine, laugh, cry and be bummed when ‘The End’ comes too quickly. 18 years ago I wrote my first book. 17 years ago I had my son and life happened. It’s time to travel the road that I had to detour from for a time and achieve my goal, my dream and hopefully my reality.

Hugs….

Teresa

juoerit5
When did you decide to become a writer?
I’ve always wanted to write, but it wasn’t until 1989, that I got serious by sending out manuscripts to publishers. When that didn’t work out I just concentrated on writing and then in 2011 I self published Damon which is the first book in the Protectors Series.

Why do you write?
I have such a vivid imagination, always have. It’s a outlet for me and a escape. I love living in different worlds. That’s why I started reading and then decided I wanted to create my own worlds. Love it!

What are your ambitions for your writing career?
To meet as many readers as I can. I know I could say make millions, but what has surprised me most about this journey in the writing world is all the awesome people I have met. For someone to say to me that they love my books is priceless. It’s a dream come true as cliche as that sounds, but so darn true.

We know you’ve written many books, do you have a favorite or do you love all of them equally?
Man, that is one hard question. Slade, which is the sixth in the series, was probably the hardest book for me to write because of the expectations. Every single world I wrote I had the readers in mind. It was mentally draining, but I loved every minute of writing that book. So if I had to pick one that is my fave, it was have to be Dr. Hottie McVampire aka Slade.

What are you working on at the moment? Any new book releases coming this year?
Oh, yes. I just finished Forbidden Hunger, which is part of a anthology of other amazing authors that I’m in total awe of….Romancing The Paranormal which is up for pre-order at .99. Forbidden Hunger is a shifter book which is new for me. Then I also finished a very short book called Rodeo Romance, which is a contemporary for the box set Summer Fire up for pre-order at .99, which also has amazing authors. As of at this very second I am working on the next book in the Protector Series. No rest for the wicked. LOL!

Do you write full-time or part-time? What does your writing routine look like?  I  have been blessed to start writing full-time. I was able to quit my job almost two years ago as a medical transcription to pursue writing. I really don’t have a writing routine, but I’m writing all the time.

Where do your ideas come from? What inspires you the most?
The readers inspire me. As long as they want more I will write more. I’m scared to even look too deeply into where the ideas come from, but they do come which I’m thankful for. As I said above I have a very vivid imagination, even as a kid.

What is the hardest thing about writing?
The fear of letting the readers down. It would be like letting my family down and that just won’t do.

How long on average does it take you to write a book?
It really depends. I have a hard time giving release dates because as soon as I do then everything happens. Last year mom fell and broke her hip as well as other family issues while I was writing Slade. So even if its clear sailing if I even hint at a release date then I will definitely miss it because something in the universe stops and says, ‘Ah, Teresa just posted a release date let’s see what we can do to make that a total fail.’ This is so true!

Do you ever get writer’s block? If so, any tips on how to get through the dreaded writer’s block?
Yep, I set a release date and BAM writer’s block at it’s finest. What do I do…I don’t set release dates until I’m ready to send book to my awesome editor Becky Johnson at Hot Tree Editing (shameless plug for Becky). Also, I usually start rereading the books in the series and that helps me tremendously.

Do you read much and if so who are your favorite authors? Are you reading anything interesting at the moment?
I LOVE to read and usually I take a break between writing the Protectors books, but this time I didn’t take a break because I committed to the two box sets. So right now I am not reading anything, but I will be going on vacation in June and my Kindle is overflowing with unread awesomeness. I have so many favorite authors, but my first author I have every single ebook and print book is Sherrilyn Kenyon. Archeron is my dude!!

How do you relax?
Any interesting hobbies? Usually when I’m with my family I’m relaxed. I love to read, fish and follow my husbands MMA team which my son fights on. Okay, well that’s not relaxing when my son fights, but it’s something I enjoy….after he’s done fighting and walks out of the cage unhurt. HA!

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?
Do not give up….ever! If writing is really in your heart just keeping going even through the one-star reviews, the one sale a month beginning and the ‘Oh, you’re writing a book eye roll’ because you will get all of these. Take it one day at a time and write, write, write and then write some more.

I would like to thank all the readers, even if you haven’t read my books. If you are a reader and support a author especially indies you are making dreams come true. That is something that is truly priceless, at least it is to me. I also would like to thank my street team the Warriorettes. You girls are the best and I can never ever thank you enough for what you do for me. And to Restless Book Obsession, thank you for spotlighting me and my books. Without you guys authors would never be able to reach the readers we do. You ROCK! Hugs!!

WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | GOODREADS | TWITTER

;o6yije

