banner

Meet Lex:

I write new adult novels, the sexy kind with lotsa angst, a whole lotta kissing, and the hot happily ever afters. When I’m not writing, I live a parallel life as an English teacher. I love printing black and white photos, listening to music on vinyl, and getting lost in a great book. Bitten by wanderlust, I’ve lived all over the country but currently reside in the City of Angels with my husband and twin daughters.
tefkoeqgj
When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?
I majored in journalism and freelanced for different newspapers after I graduated. I switched gears to write fiction a few years ago after a family crisis. I guess I needed an outlet.

What are your ambitions for your writing career?
I’d love to be able to write full time.

We know you’ve written many books. Do you have a favorite or do you love all of them equally?
Right now, Kissing Madeline, my new release, is my favorite, but only because those characters have been rattling around in my head for two years, and I finally got a chance to write their story. But I always love each book when I’m working on it.

What are you working on at the moment? Any new book releases coming this year?
I’m taking a couple of weeks to clear my head after the craziness that comes with a new release, and then I’ll be working on a spin-off that starts with Brady and a companion novel for Jenna & Ryan.

We know that you teach as well as write. How do you find the time to write? What does your writing routine look like?
I try to squeeze it in whenever I can, so that means I write before work and every spare moment I have when I get home. But I have young daughters, and I want to hang out with them in the evenings, so they might be sitting next to me with their iPads, playing games or watching Yo Gabba Gabba while I’m trying to reach my word count for the day. I also try to get up really early on the weekends to get a few quiet moments to work uninterrupted.

Where do your ideas come from? What inspires you the most?
I’m inspired by everything…friends, personal experiences, songs. And I get my best ideas when I’m in the shower or driving, neither of which is very convenient. lol

Are any of your characters based on people in your life? Such as character traits or personalities.
They all are to some degree. My characters are fictional, but I use friends’ traits and quirks to make them real to me. I think that’s why readers seem to like Clementine’s relationships with her roommates. I had great roommates my sophomore year in college, and that’s what I used to build the characters’ rapport in Dearest Clementine.

What is the hardest thing about writing?
Hitting publish.

How long on average does it take you to write a book?
About three months, but then I edit for another month or two.

Do you ever get writer’s block? If so, any tips on how to get through the dreaded writer’s block?
I use music to help me jump those hurdles. I might listen to a song a hundred times while I’m writing a certain part of a book, but it helps me stay in a character’s head… or jump back into it if I’m having trouble connecting.

Do you read much and if so who are your favorite authors? Are you reading anything interesting at the moment?
I’m always reading tons of new adult and contemporary romance. But my favorite stories are the ones I teach, like Romeo & Juliet, Macbeth, Pride & Prejudice and anything by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

How do you relax? Any interesting hobbies?
I read and listen to music. And I’m a social media junky.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?
Don’t be afraid to get critiqued. Find someone who likes the same authors you do and has a similar taste in writing, and ask that person to be honest about your work. That’s where you start. Then, down the road, once you’ve written your book, get a great editor, someone who will kick your ass and tighten your phrasing and plot.



tlh;w;ge
j;koeje
fhgkjwrpg
Really enjoyed this book!!! Clementine is a college student who tries to keep herself closed off & likes having the persona of being an ice princess. It’s safe & keeps her from getting hurt. But enter Gavin Murphy who changes everything for Clementine!! Amongst the romance in this book there is also a mystery going on that Gavin is trying to solve & unbeknownst to Clementine she’s at the center of it. I really enjoyed the twists & turns of this story & how once Clementine started opening herself up to the possibility of Gavin it also opened her up to more people around her & she started building stronger friendships along with getting to know people in her group better & realizes that they also need her friendship. Well written & can’t wait for the next book


ghjlem,rg
;hjpewh
This is the second book in the dearest series and I really liked how there was some overlap of the time frame from Dearest Clementine. You get to see the pov of Jax & Dani which I thought was a good touch. Helps to solidify relationships and make it feel like a cohesive series. I liked Jax’s character in the first book and really wanted to get to know him in this book. The author did a great job in filling out both characters just like she did in Dearest Clementine. Lex also did the dual POV really well. It flowed very nicely and stuck with one character longer if needed and didn’t go back and forth and make it choppy. I liked the growth of both characters, Dani started out being a bit of a pushover and not liking confrontation to finding the strength within to start speaking her mind and standing up for herself. Jax’s growth was more in finding what really matters in life and realizing that where he was headed was a lonely shallow life. I did feel like the different misunderstandings to keep these two characters apart were a little drawn out but it fulfilled the angsty part of the story. Even though this is romance I feel like this series is more about friendships and really being there unconditionally for your friends and loved ones. That’s what I like the most in this series is the bond of friendship even between the two characters that end up falling in love with each other. I’m enjoying this series and can’t wait to read Kissing Madeline which is Daren’s story, I’m hoping that the author Lex Martin can redeem him.


 

Connect with Lex:

Facebook | Dearest Series Group | Twitter | Goodreads | Blog | Newsletter | New Release Alert Sign-up

CLICK ON THE BANNER TO PURCHASE LEX’S BOOKS

GL;WPOG

