release

Veiled Obsession (His Agenda 1)
By
Dori Lavelle

 
blurb

I cry for the man I used to know  the man I used to love…until his love
killed mine.

My name is Haley Macknight, and I’m dying inside. From the outside my life
is every woman’s dream. I’m married to Jude Macknight, a handsome billionaire
who loves me…too much.

Once upon a time, I loved him. But that love is dead. Unwilling to let me
go, I’ve become his obsession. He will stop at nothing to make sure I remain in
a marriage I no longer want, inside my gilded cage.

Each day I pull away from Jude, I watch him transform into a monster. Before
my eyes, he becomes a man I don’t recognize, a dangerous man. He makes it clear
that I belong to him, that my life is no longer my own. If I leave, he’ll kill
me. But if I stay, I’ll die a slow death.

 

**WARNING: Due to sexual situations and dark adult content, VEILED
OBSESSION is not intended for readers under the age of 18.**

oneclick

AMAZON | B&N | KOBO | ITUNES  


honest

mars

✮✮

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. This book was very hard to read due to its content. I read the warning “sexual situations and dark content meant for readers 18+” but I wish there was a warning on all the rape that goes on. Rape is a trigger for many people so I believe the author should’ve been more clear on stating that before someone else has to read through all that. Furthermore the rape scenes were way too often and way too much. One in particular 51% into the book was extremely disturbing and disgusting. This is mainly the reason why I cannot rate this book 5 stars. Had there been a warning about that I probably would’ve never picked up the book. Furthermore the heroine is a weak link. I couldn’t stand her, couldn’t relate to her and at times I found myself wishing Jude would kill her or she would commit suicide. She was abused on and on and on but it took her forever to decide to leave him. I know this is the reality that many abused women go through but I personally cannot relate. I think it’s degrading and I believe the heroine has absolutely no sense of self worth. Another thing that irked me a lot was that this book is rated mystery/suspense but I had absolutely no sense of either/or because I could literally guess the direction in which the author took things. Half the time I was just annoyed and I didn’t put it down only because it was an arc and I needed to review it. What I DID like was that the writing flowed greatly. The author knows how to write and there were almost no errors in the writing (the beginning was confusing because she started writing third person then swapped into first person) but after that bump, it was great. I would absolutely love to read something else by this author bc I believe Dori has a lot of potential, I just can’t recommend this book because I personally didn’t enjoy it and it wasn’t for me.. I only recommend it if you’re okay with reading a bunch of rape scenes and you don’t mind an abused heroine who allows the abuse to continue for more than half of the book. Dori: Thank you for the ARC, I am sorry that I couldn’t connect with your book and I look forward to reading something a little bit on the lighter side by you.

 

author

Dori Lavelle,
is a mother, wife, and a sucker for happy-ever-afters and mint chocolate. Give
her a great romance novel and a mug of hot chocolate and she’d be one happy
woman.
Growing up, Dori read a lot, and when she wasn’t happy with a particular
ending, she wrote a different one, just for herself. Before long, she was
writing stories when she should have been doing homework. The time has come for
her to share the stories she cooks up in her head.
 
Contact Links:
 
 
 

 Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

