Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks


 First comes love.

Then comes marriage.

Then comes the… really nasty divorce.

Kate Carter thought she married her soul mate. She thought she had her happily ever after. But seven years into Kate’s marriage, she realizes that her husband Nick is not what she wanted. He’s selfish, he’s oblivious and he doesn’t love her anymore.

Maybe she doesn’t love him anymore either.

Divorce is the only option if either of them wants to find happiness.

Kate and Nick thought they knew what they wanted, but neither is prepared for the heartache that separating will bring them. The journey they embark on is not the freedom they wished for, but a painful look at the people they’ve become.

At the end of it, Kate has to decide if this is really the life she wants or if maybe there’s a way to salvage her broken heart.



  ** spoiler alert ** I received an arc of this book for an honest review. I wasn’t sure where this book was going when I first started it because I was introduced to Kate & Nick during a fight and the demise of their marriage. I do have to say that even though that’s how it started and I didn’t know the characters yet, it was still gripping and emotional. This story is Kate’s journey of heartache and loss but of healing as well. Kate makes a decision during that fight at the beginning that she’s determined to go through because she thinks it’s best for both her and Nick. Even though it’s a tough one and she’s not a 100% about it, she just knew that how they were going couldn’t continue that they weren’t happy and that they were destroying each other. Through all the emotional turmoil the author also gave us glimpses as to why these two people fell in love and how they worked as a couple. It made it so that you connected with them and rooted for them to work it out and stay together. I felt like my heart hurt so much for them while reading this story and it had me tearing up several times. There was so much insight into the grief of separation and possible divorce and into working through all the mistakes to possibly come out stronger on the other side. I really enjoyed this book and found myself reading it whenever I had a free moment. Thank you Rachel for letting me read this beautiful story.

Looking for another contemporary romance from Rachel Higginson? Five Stages of Falling In Love is on SALE for 99¢!




Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo


Elizabeth Carlson is living in the pits of hell- also known as grief.

Her husband of eight years, the father of her four children and the love of her life, died from cancer. Grady’s prognosis was grim, even from the start, but Liz never gave up hope he would survive. How could she, when he was everything to her?

Six months later, she is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life and get the kids to school on time. Both seem impossible. Everything seems impossible these days.

When Ben Tyler moves in next door, she is drowning in sorrow and pain, her children are acting out, and the house is falling apart. She has no time for curious new friends or unwanted help, but Ben gives her both. And he doesn’t just want to help her with yard work or cleaning the gutters. Ben wants more from Liz. More than she’s capable of ever giving again.

As Liz mourns her dead husband and works her way through the five stages of grief, she finds there’s more of her heart to give than she thought possible. And as new love takes hold, she peels away the guilt and heartache, and discovers there’s more to life than death.



Website Facebook Twitter

Rachel Higginson is the creator of The Star-Crossed Series, Love & Decay Novella Series, The Starbright Series, The Siren Series, Bet on Us and the soon to be released, The Five Stages of Falling in Love! She is also the co-creator of the podcast “Zach & Rachel Take Over the World.”

She was born and raised in Nebraska, and spent her college years traveling the world. She fell in love with Eastern Europe, Paris, Indian Food and the beautiful beaches of Sri Lanka, but came back home to marry her high school sweetheart. Now she spends her days raising four amazing kids. In the few spare moments she has to herself, she is either reading for hours on end or writing her own stories.